News | About Us | Organisation | Research | Publications | Events | IIPC Debates

The International Institute for Popular Culture (IIPC) was launched on 8 November 2006 in Turku, Finland. The Institute is situated at the Department of Cultural History (University of Turku) and was established in co-operation between Departments of Media Studies and Musicology (University of Turku), the Department of Musicology (Åbo Akademi University), and the Department of Cultural Studies (University of Joensuu). In 2007, also the Department of Digital Culture (University of Turku) and the Renvall Institute (University of Helsinki) joined IIPC.

The Institute has active international connections and has got letters of support from 22 institutions around the world, including such collegial centres as the Institute of Popular Music at the University of Liverpool, the Centre for Popular Culture at the University of Amsterdam, and the Center for Popular Culture Studies at the Bowling Green State University.

Hannu Salmi (Cultural History, University of Turku), hansalmi(at)

Steering Group:
Johannes Brusila (Musicology, Åbo Akademi University), jbrusila(at)
Bruce Johnson (Cultural History, University of Turku), brujoh(at)
Helmi Järviluoma (Cultural Studies, University of Joensuu), helmi.jarviluoma(at)
Lars-Folke Landgrén (Renvall Institute, Unversity of Helsinki), lars-folke.landgren(at)
John Richardson (Musicology, University of Turku), john.richardson(at)
Jukka Sihvonen (Media Studies, University of Turku), jukkasih(at)
Jaakko Suominen (Digital Culture, University of Turku), jaasuo(at)

Task Group:
Johannes Brusila (Musicology, Åbo Akademi University), jbrusila(at)
Yrjö Heinonen (Musicology, University of Turku), yrjo.heinonen(at)
Kari Kallioniemi (Cultural History, University of Turku), kakallio(at)
Kimi Kärki (Cultural History, University of Turku), kierka(at)
Anu Lahtinen (Helsinki Collegium for Advanced Studies, University of Helsinki), anu.z.lahtinen(at)
Janne Mäkelä (Renvall Institute, University of Helsinki), janne.makela(at)
Mari Pajala (Media Studies, University of Turku), mari.pajala(at)

Advisory Board:
Chair: Keijo Virtanen (University of Turku)
Bjørn Alterhaug (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway)
Alf Björnberg (University of Gothenburg, Sweden)
Ray Browne, 1922-2009 (founder of Popular Culture Association, founder and editor of Journal of Popular Culture and Journal of American Culture, Bowling Green State University, USA)
Gary Burns (Northern Illinois University, USA)
Martin Cloonan (University of Glasgow, UK)
Sara Cohen (University of Liverpool, UK)
Mark Evans (Macquarie University, Australia)
Anthony Fung (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
Susan Hayward (University of Exeter, UK)
Stan Hawkins (University of Oslo, Norway)
David Horn (Founding Director Institute for Popular Music, University of Liverpool, UK)
Shane Homan (Monash University, Australia)
Erkki Huhtamo (University of California, LA, USA)
Claire Levy (Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria)
Tony Mitchell (University of New South Wales, Australia)
Ingrid Monson (Harvard University, USA)
Motti Regev (The Open University of Israel, Israel)
Roy Shuker (Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand)
Philip Tagg (University of Montreal, Canada)
Robert Walser (University of California, LA, USA)
Mimi White (Northwestern University, USA)
Peter Wicke (Humboldt Universität, Berlin, Germany)
Liesbet van Zoonen (University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands)

International Institute for Popular Culture
Department of Cultural History, University of Turku, FI-20014 Turku, Finland